Current News


Thereís No
"Washington" in D.C.
Congress Abolishes Cityís
Charter in 1871
U.S. capitol's property transferred
to new corporation
By: David Deschesne,
Editor/Publisher, Fort Fairfield Journal

In 1871, Congress passed a law which abolished the charters of the cities of Washington and Georgetown - the seat of our nation's capitol. They also re-established a new corporation to replace those entities and had all of their property, tax receipts, etc. transferred to it. That new corporation was called the "District of Columbia."

The law that did this can be found in the Forty-First Congress, Sess. III, Ch. 62, 1871; which states, in part:

"Sec. 40 And be it further enacted, That the charters of the cities of Washington and Georgetown shall be repealed on and after the first day of June, A.D. eighteen hundred and seventy-one, and all offices of said corporations abolished at that date...

Sec. 41. ...And upon the repeal of the charters of the cities of Washington and Georgetown, the District of Columbia be, and is hereby, declared to be the successor of said corporations, and all the property of said corporations, and of the county of Washington, shall become vested in the said District of Columbia..."

Our Nation's capitol is not "Washington, D.C." as we have been taught to believe. Washington's charter was repealed and abolished in 1871. The only entity referred to thereafter was the "District of Columbia."

The District of Columbia is the proper name for the capitol of the United States. The law mentioned allows for the geographical land masses that were once occupied by the incorporated Cities of Washington and Georgetown to simply be referred to as "Washington" and "Georgetown" the way we would normally name a park or other associated land mass within an incorporated city. However, neither "city" has a mayor, council, government, or treasury. Those names exist merely as a label of reference toward the land mass those former municipal corporations once occupied.

Congress can only create agencies with national authority which are authorized by the US Constitution. There is a plethora of unconstitutional agencies which have set up in the District of Columbia since its inception as the new capitol. Since we perceive the District of Columbia to be our nationís legitimate capitol, rather than a private corporation, they essentially trick the public into accepting their authority within the several states when no such authority really exists.

For example, the IRS, Federal Reserve, FCC, Dept. of Education, etc. are all sub-corporations of The District of Columbia, Inc. According to Article 1, Sec. 8, Clause 17 of the U.S. Constitution, the government in the District of Columbia only has subject matter jurisdiction to exist and exercise original legislative authority inside the District of Columbia, Guam, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands, American Samoa, and all Federal Territories (Army bases, etc.)




The Power Hour:
(7-10am CST)
∑∑∑Listen Live

Listen FREE thru Global Star Satellite Feed






All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner.
FAIR USE NOTICE: This site contains copyrighted material the use of which has not always been specifically authorized by the copyright owner. We are making such material available in our efforts to advance understanding of environmental, political, human rights, economic, democracy, scientific, and social justice issues, etc. We believe this constitutes a 'fair use' of any such copyrighted material as provided for in section 107 of the US Copyright Law. In accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107, the material on this site is distributed without profit to those who have expressed a prior interest in receiving the included information for research and educational purposes. For more information go to:

Copyright © 2007. The Power Hour. All rights reserved.